Debbie Smith ran the Halstead Marathon for the Steve Sinnott Foundation

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADebbie Smith ran the Halstead Marathon for the Foundation and raise £180 for us.

This is her story of how the day went:
It was a cold, wet and a windy day which made it hard going with strong headwinds throughout the run. Halstead countryside was beautiful and the support from locals cheering us on really helped. I was really proud to run for my running club Phoenix Striders and celebrate this event, which has been going for twenty years and is one of Britain’s top 5 marathons.

I enjoyed the run although it was hard. At twenty miles my time was 3:09:00 but it took me longer to last six miles as knee was playing up, but I ran the whole 26.2 miles.

Thinking of the Foundation really helped in those last six miles and kept me going, know I was helping children around the world get access to a quality education motivated me to keep going. I finally finished the run in 4:32:00.

If you or anyone you know would like to be a champion of global education then please get in touch with our Fundraising Coordinator Nick at nick.evans@stevesinnottfoundation.org.uk

Leave a Reply

